Community Shield 2012: Chelsea v Manchester City Preview

Chelsea v Manchester City

Chelsea and Manchester City will face each other in this year’s Community Shield on Sunday 12 August 2012. But this year the venue will be Villa Park because Wembley Stadium will still be in use for the London 2012 Olympics. The referee will be Kevin Friend.

Villa Park has hosted this tournament twice before, in 1931 and 1972. Manchester City won it in 1972, so some of their older fans will have happy memories of Villa Park.

The trophy is also known as the Charity Shield as it is used by the Football Association to raise money for good causes and is traditionally played between the winners of the previous season’s Premiership and FA Cup. Most seasons, the teams do not take it that seriously and regard it as the last of the pre-season friendlies before the season starts properly.

Previously for Chelsea vs Manchester City

The last time the two teams met was a league game in March at Eastlands with Manchester City winning 2-1 after Chelsea had taken the lead on the hour mark through Gary Cahill. Sergio Aguero levelled from the penalty spot a quarter of an hour later and Samir Nasri scored the late winner. This was the reversal of the score at Stamford Bridge in December when Chelsea cancelled out an early Manchester City goal from Mario Balatelli with a 34th minute goal by Raul Meireles before Frank Lampard hit the winner from the penalty spot with ten minutes to go.

Football Betting Tips for Manchester City vs Chelsea

Football betting odds: Manchester City are favourites to win the trophy with odds between 5/4 and 13/10 for doing it ninety minutes. For Chelsea to do the same, the range is from 2/1 to 23/10. Most bookmakers have settled for either 9/4 or 12/5 for the draw.

History of the Community Shield

The shield dates back to 1899 when it was called the Sheriff of London Charity Shield and was a match between professionals and amateurs. In 1908, it changed to the FA Charity Shield and became a match between the top professional team and the top amateur team (as opposed to teams made up of the top professionals and amateurs). Manchester United were the first winners in the new format, beating Queens Park Rangers after a replay. Manchester United have also won it more times than any other team, with 15 outright wins and four shared.

The first time it was contested between the Football League and FA Cup winners was in 1921, but the format continued to vary and the amateurs versus professionals game sometimes returned. It changed its name to the Community Shield in 2002.

Manchester United are the current holders after beating Manchester City 3-2 last year with a winner well into injury time.

oral steroids online

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *